Spa review : Paradise spa, Lekki Phase 1

Welcome to a new month my dear readers, we are almost halfway through the year. How has the year been so far? Are you still on track with your dreams and plans? I hope so and if not,  you can always start again today! 

To usher in the new month, and shed away the old skin from April, some ‘Me Time’ was in order (like I really need a reason to spend some time in a spa – I just love getting pampered!). Anyhoos, while combing through the Dealdey app, I came across a spa deal offered by Paradise MedSpa. I bought the third option which comprised of a 15 min steam bath, 45 min body scrub, 30 and 10 min of pedicure and manicure respectively. The deal cost six thousand nine hundred and ninety (6990) naira only. The other two options had some type of body massage in place of the scrub session and cost 4950 naira.  

I arrived on time for the appointment and was greeted pleasantly while getting the formalities (retrieving the coupon and filling out a health disclosure form) done in the waiting area. There was some calming spa music and I felt myself loosening up with all stress beginning to melt off me. I was lead to one of the treatment rooms and given a towel and some privacy to get undressed before entering the steam room. I really enjoyed being in here because I took the opportunity to do some deep breathing exercises and meditation. The masseuse started the scrub (using a honey based sugar scrub), which also kind of doubled as a mini massage. Although she was quite attentive and always checking if I was OK with the service, she ignored my inner thighs, buttocks, chest,  lower belly, etc (private and areas in close proximity in short). Afterwards, I was lead to the shower room to wash up. 

Spa bathroom, Paradise Medspa, Lekki.
Steam room for one!

Spa bathroom, Paradise Medspa, Lekki.
I liked the seashells in the vase!

I was looking to slather my new skin with some rich body butter or natural moisturizer after the shower but the lotion offered was St.Ives. Not that this is a bad thing but ever since I started making my own natural cosmetics, I’ve become somewhat of a cosmetics snob so I went without (don’t blame me for being partial to nature). I also expected the scrub to last longer (it said 45 mins on Dealdey but it was done in 20).

Spa bathroom, Paradise Medspa, Lekki.

Finally, I was lead to the nail studio for the mani/pedi. The therapist did quite a good job with exfoliating the soles of my feet and trimming my cuticle. She also used some gel scrub (not sure what the brand was) and regular thick creme afterwards. The service was great, the therapist efficient and my feet and hands felt ok afterwards. The only downside to the session was that there was no polish included. 

In all, I quite enjoyed the session and might go there again just to see how the service received on the offer will differ from the full session but it will take a while before I do that (it’s a bit far from where I live but I planned my day to make it work this time). 

Paradise Spa has a relaxing ambience, friendly staff and good service. They offer a range of spa services from wraps and massages to luxury facials; hair and nail services. It is situated at House 19,  Chief Albert Iyorah Street, off Admiralty Way, Lekki Phase 1, Lagos. There is a branch in VI.

Leave a Reply

