My modified oil for oil cleansing. 

One of the complaints I receive from people that have tried the oil cleansing method (OCM) is that it takes a bit of time to get all the oil off. The need for facial towels and hot water makes it a bit fussy too. I don’t really mind putting this much effort into taking care of my skin but

I would admit that sometimes I just prefer to wash my face in the regular way, which has become quicker due to our habits. Some people, especially those who live in the temperate regions, do not mind having a bit of the oils left over to retain moisture but this doesn’t work so well when living in the tropics. Trust me, I have experienced it both ways.

Anyhoos, this got me thinking of finding a way to modify this great method. I started to do some research and came across many products like cleansing milks, which are basically just light lotions without surfactants. There is absolutely nothing wrong with these but I worry about the cleansing abilities of these cleansing lotions. Also, I quite like variety and people have varying needs and preferences. So in order to increase options, I continued my search for the holy grail in the OCM world. I know of self emulsifying scrubs that turn to lotions upon contact with water and thought, why not? And then I found out that I’m not so early to these self emulsifying oils that facilitate quicker cleansing by turning to lotions upon rinsing. Cool huh? 

For this to work well, the choice of emulsifier needs to be taken into great consideration because you need a product that rinses off clean, without leaving a film over the face since there are no surfactants. You also need to consider the comedogencity of oils used as some oils can clog the pores and exacerbate some cases of acne. Some oils are also more cleansing than others, so you’ll need to choose wisely. And some other oils are just too precious to just be rinsed away jo! 

So my people, what is your formula? I’ll definitely be trying out various oil combinations, so stay tuned!

One thought on “My modified oil for oil cleansing. 

  1. Jane

    Never quite succeded at making an emulsified scrub, but when I do, shea butter and sunflower oils will be on my list. Which emulsifier do you use?

    Like

Leave a Reply

