A mild facial cleanser

About two weeks ago, I made a facial product for cleansing. Even though this may be wrong, I had always just used the same bar soap for my face and body but no more!! Bar soaps generally have a pH of about 8 which can be quite high and especially disruptive to the acid mantle of the sensitive facial skin with irritations and dryness being a couple of adverse reactions. I am a huge advocate  for

the oil cleansing method and have prepared an oil based cream cleanser (another post) but I find that the cleansing process can take a bit longer than I would like, and I always have to switch up my formula. I also decided to formulate a surfactant based cleanser to work better with my facial brush.

Anyhoos, for this formulation,  I used Distilled water, surfactant, glycerite, natural silicon, herbal tinctures, preservative and essential oils. I was careful to limit total essential oil weight to 1 % in order to comply with dermal limits for the inclusion of essential oils in facial care products. I chose to include tea tree and lavender essential oils for their acne bursting (tea tree), astrigent (tea tree) and soothing properties (lavender).  I used my pineapple glycerite from my previous post for moisturising, fragrant and humectant properties. AHAs were added for pH adjustment and gentle exfoliation; while I included some natural silicon for its skin softening and film forming properties . In my next formulation though, I may leave out the silicon because this is a rinse out product and although it gave the cleanser a luxurious feel, it would be of better use in a leave – on formulation.

The final pH of the cleanser is around 5.5 (using a universal pH strip) which is great for maintaining the acid mantle while still retaining its cleansing ability and foam. My face felt very clean but still moisturised after use, I am quite happy with this product and will formulate this again (maybe without the silicon). I will continue to use this cleanser especially with my facial brush, to combine physical and chemical exfoliation.

Do you prefer a cream or surfactant based cleanser for your facial skin? What are your experiences with both? Have you tried formulating your own cleanser?

Let me know!

6 thoughts on “A mild facial cleanser

  1. Satah

    You should try handmade natural soaps. They generally have a ph of 8-10, but because they are made without any acids or additional chemicals and also still retain the natural glycerin created by the process of saponification, they are AMAZING on skin!

    Like

  2. This ph arguement will never end in my opinion until someone like caroline hirons says something and the world stops. But I realised that ph of natural soap comes in at about 8. As soap cures ph drops. Depending on what was USD to formulate it can drop to 7 after weeks of curing..also remmeber the free fatty acids those also help to dissolve oil on the skin. Ordinary water increase skin ph to 8 and soap to 9..so after 20 mins the skin readjusts. I’m still doing my own research and experiments because I’ve found so much conflicting info online even in studies.

    Like

    1. Exactly, I just try to err on the side of caution and by how my skin feels. Some soaps are ‘superfatted’ and keep skin soft but I find that even though it’s a bit softer, it’s still feels stripped. Even just water raises the pH too that’s correct but electrolytes in hydrated skin can help to restore balance. Using a toner can eliminate the issue all together but when I use this face wash, I usually don’t have to use a toner even though I still do.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

