Another lovely body butter

This thick butter was made on request by a customer. It was a harmattan request and the client did not present with any skin concerns, had normal skin with some dryness in elbows, etc. He expressed dislike for oily creams and wanted a woody but sweet fragrance. Perfectly thick for harmattan, it includes shea, and cocoa butters, coconut oil, almond oil, jojoba oil, cetyl alcohol, emulsifying wax, frankincense water, glycerine, xanthan gum, tapioca starch, glucosamine, niacinamide, EPO, rosehip oil, vitamin E oil, sandalwood EO, Manderin EO, lavender EO. I thought about including some vetiver EO but it’s quite empowering and not sure how to use it yet. I expected it to be a musky woody scent but this is … I don’t even know. I also left out the lecithin as I suspect it for the slimy feel of a previous attempt. The tapioca made all the difference with mattifying the butter and giving it a luxurious feel. I have some natural silicone and allantoin that I purchased from Aromantic online store so I’ll use it in my next formulation to further enhance the texture.

I have been using the left over after turning to the jar and I really love it. Skin stayed moisturised till the next morning but it didn’t feel oily. *Winning*

UPDATE:

My client did not like the body butter. He specifically complained about it smelling strongly of shea butter, even though I offered to leave it out completely but he insisted on it. I used a small amount but he was still able to smell it through all the essential oils. I felt under appreciated for my effort but I have learned that some people are just very sensitive to some things like scents so I have to stock up on refined shea butter. But doesn’t that defeat the purpose and take from the benefits of using shea?

How do you get rid of the nutty or eggy or earthy scent of some natural products? I love the smell of shea butter but I know I can’t stand that of borage oil for instance so I can’t force it on anyone (especially not a paying customer). Is buying refined oils and butters the way to go?

Leave a Reply

