For your pleasure…

So the other day I found myself in the midst of some crazy friends. They came around as I was in the end stages of formulating a body butter (another post) and they started teasing me about formulating bombs and other random entities. The conversation somehow jumped to formulation of lubricants and before I knew it I got an order from one of them for some

lube lool.

The next day I found some xanthan gum,  glycerine, and water, preservative and got to work. The result was above my expectation. It took a few tries to figure out the best combination and technique to prevent clumping of the xanthan gum. I also added a drop (or 2) of vanilla essence as I only wanted a faint smell for this highly sensitive area of the body. Also, xanthan gum is not an emulsifier so I can only use a minute amount to avoid a biphase situation and oils are hardly compatible with latex condoms. Next time I’ll use a hydrosol instead or a solubiliser. I’ll also try working with guar gum and a combination of the two, and in the near future, invest in a clear grade xanthan or sclerotium gum.

It wasn’t a clear gel but it had a very silky, luxurious and moisturised skin feel when completely rubbed in and skin stayed moisturised for hours. I’ll explore this formula in my facial gel formulations, so stay tuned. It didn’t dry out quickily when applied, was very emollient and it took quite an effort getting it to completely sink in so it’ll last very long when uesd in the bedroom. I am currently awaiting a review from my friend *wink*. I put hers in this bottle and reserved some for myself.

In a regular lubricant (KY jelly), ingredients are Aqua, Glycerin, Sorbitol, Acrylates / C10 – 30 Alkyl Crosspolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Sodium Hydroxide. I don’t know about you, but I’d rather use a natural formulation.

After rubbing in.

If you have tried this let me know in the comments section.

Cheers.

One thought on “For your pleasure…

  1. Pingback: DIY Gifts of Love – the naija formulator

Leave a Reply

