I made an emulsifying chocolate scrub

So the other day I got bored and decided to prep for the imminent harmattan season. I have dry(ish) skin and harmattan will definitely make things challenging for my lovely skin so I went through my stash to see what my available ingredients could make.

I had shea butter, coconut oil, cocoa butter, emulsifying wax NF, cocoa powder, stearic acid, cetyl alcohol, vitamin E, essential oils (vanilla and sandalwood), preservative (optiphen plus). I also used regular white sugar which I ground a bit because I thought the particles were quite large. It came out looking and smelling amazing. I’ve used it for the past few days now and really love it. I used 75% exfoliant and will increase it to 150% for the next batch. I’ll also work on finding the perfect granule size for facial, body, hand and feet scrubs and would maybe increase the percentage of cocoa powder to get the awesome benefits of this nutrient and antioxidant packed superfood. I also want to try other exfoliants eg bamboo powder and jojoba beads.

Did I mention that it smells heavenly. It leaves a lovely chocolatey scent after it’s been washed off as well (major win) and I could still smell it after about 4 hours.

It starts out looking like an oil based scrub when worked into the skin and upon rinsing, it turns to a lotion consistency which makes rinsing off a breeze. I have tried it on my face and décolleté, hands, and body so far and it has left my skin supple even when I did not moisturise afterwards.

 

 

 

Trust me, you want this in your life so try it and let me know how you like it!

Cheers .

P. S. : Exfoliation is a necessity and I will make a post about it in the near future.

2 thoughts on “I made an emulsifying chocolate scrub

  1. Pingback: DIY Gifts of Love – the naija formulator

  2. Pingback: My modified oil for oil cleansing.  – the naija formulator

Leave a Reply

