I made a beeswax candle

So last night I decided to stop procrastinating and make a candle. So glad I did because it turned out very nice. I feel proud. I had some beeswax and coconut oil and made a blend of the wax and oil using a double boiler. I decided not to use any essential oils because the beeswax had this yummy honey aroma and I also like the smell of coconut oil. I used a square braided wick and a 2-inch (diameter) glass candle mould.  The candle burned with a very slight scent of cocohoneynut which I quite enjoyed but it did not fill the room.

The benefits of switching from paraffin to soy and beeswax candles are vast and not just limited to aesthetics. Beeswax candles are naturally opaque yellow-coloured and melts to look and smell like the prettiest amber honey, gosh, I’m in love. It has a long burn duration and doesn’t have that burn smell that paraffin wax candles possess. Some people claim it releases negative ions into the atmosphere that purifies the air but I cannot verify that so … .

On the other hand though, beeswax is generally more expensive than paraffin wax but I guess you get what you pay for, right? I’ll try to experiment a little more using other types of wicks but im happy so far with what I got.

I’ll do other posts on the uses and benefits of beeswax but as regards to candle making, I LOVE EET!

Cheers and till next time, enjoy my candle photos (and maybe try it for yourself).

One thought on “I made a beeswax candle

  1. Pingback: DIY Gifts of Love – the naija formulator

Leave a Reply

